Where everybody knows your (user)name…

07Nov07

There is a really thought-provoking and moving blog by Linda Grant on Comment Is Free today, in response to discovering that one of the CiF commenters she had crossed swords with is actually the son of her former boss, Tony Hall. The comments thread is equally lovely, with commenters stepping up to say what they value about each other.

2 Responses to “Where everybody knows your (user)name…”

  1. 1 Cara Grayling

    How strange that this should be the first post I read on your blog.
    Loved the piece you linked to.
    I have been feeling really quite upset by some of the personal attacks (on me and others) on CiF.
    It’s all too easy, I think, to see words on a screen and not the person who wrote them.
    It’s equally easy to write things you don’t *actually* think.
    (And no, I’m not putting my username here – for obv. reasons!)
    Take care.

  2. Hello,

    Sorry to jump on this thread, but I couldn’t find an e-mail address.

    I just wanted to say thank for coming by our site. I’m glad you saw something that opened up your perspective a little bit. Your comment on SGC were most appreciated by me and Peggy both!

    Yours,
    TC


Leave a Reply

